Channel the Fall Flannel, Duluth Trading Co. Style


americas-top-flannel-cities-number-five-denver

Hey Denverites!  Did you have any clue that we were trend spotted as a top flannel-wearing city?!  I had no idea until Duluth Trading Co. so kindly brought it to my attention.  You MUST check out their post about it on their “Whatchamablog.”  So clever!  That’s their graphic above!  As a Colorado native, you might find it unbelievable, or not, that up until this point, I did not have a flannel shirt in my wardrobe.  I am sure I have had them when I was younger.  In fact, reflecting on it now, I am pretty sure that in my adolescence I had taken over one of my dad’s that was so over size on me, and super thin from wear.  However, since I have spotted the flannel trend creeping up on the street style scene, see my Pinterest board on it here, I let the idea of sporting one again enter my mind and added a classic flannel shirt to my “To Get” note on the iPhone.  I can scratch that off my list now thanks to the generosity of Duluth Trading Co. with the perfect shape and weight, in the new Free Swingin’ Flannel.  Since it arrived on my doorstep Friday, I have worn it pretty much all weekend.  I thought it would be fun to show how I plan to wear my flannel a couple ways below.  I thought of a few more since this little photo sesh my hubby did this afternoon.  I thought three outfit changes were enough for today and so did baby.  I will add that I will most likely play with layering it under sweaters come winter, and play it lady like and buttoned up with a statement necklace or jewel collar, tucked into high waist slacks or skirt.  LOVING this as a light jacket right now, but also having fun using it as a punky, 90’s style accessory and knotting it around the waist.  I also took a trip to their website and discovered an even better flannel!  Check out their Women’s Long Sleeve Crosscut Flannel Tunic!  What look is your fave?

Oh, P.S. I had found that awesome little red lumber jack fleece flannel coat for babe on a thrifting jaunt a while back.  She got to sport it on a brisk morning last week to check out the new Dunkin’ Donuts in downtown Denver!  Hers is by Osh Kosh, and you can’t see them, but it has elbow patches!

#1 Flannel Style

Fashion Accessory:  Vintage and thrifted black wool midi-length swing skirt, thrifted graphic tee, Jessica Simpson heels and Duluth Free Swingin’ Flannel in Carbon Blue tied around waist.

f2.1f0_edited-1f2

#2 Flannel Style

Shirted Loose and Long: Duluth Free Swingin’ Flannel in Carbon Blue, pleather leggings from Italy and black suede fringe booties from Nine West

f4f7f5#3 Flannel Style

Open Jacket: (Truthfully this is how I wore it Saturday watching hubby tend to the lawn, and probably the uniform way I will wear it most.) Thrifted Star Wars tee, Duluth Free Swingin’ Flannel in Carbon Blue, Tory Burch denim, J. Crew hat and Naot shoes.  On Remy: Tea leggings, Nui organics dress, and Peek…Aren’t You Curious Gemma cardigan. (P.S. Peek…Aren’t You Curious just opened a Denver location at Park Meadows mall and I am itching to get babe some new fall duds, but pocket book is clenched tight.  Check out the cuteness next time you’re at Park Meadows.  It’s by the Nordstrom E-Bar.)

f8.1f8f10_edited-1f11babe coat

*Gifted Duluth Free Swingin’ Flannel in Carbon Blue photographed throughout

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Feedback is good. Leave a piece here...

