Summer Errands


stripe forward_edited-1

This summer heat has me sloppily tacking my hair up.  How ’bout you?  I just can’t bring myself to styling it.

We have been doing some summer home improvements rather than taking any vacations this year.  We are planning to do a one-nighter to Vail coming up, and that will be our first overnight stay away from home with the baby.  Home improvements have included putting a simple, yet necessary, guest bedroom together in the basement, which involved a super fun and easy DIY project.  I found a night stand at the thrift store for $9.99, and it was 50% off.  I bout some pieces of sandpaper and a sample of paint and I have myself a brand new, minty green piece!

stripe profile_edited-1

This past weekend we installed a ceiling fan in the nursery, and added some tile work in our family room.  Trips to Home Depot and furniture shopping, like today, (we are in the market for a new “grown-up” sofa), call for an easy breezy, no fuss outfit.  I will let you in on the truth.  At home, I was in a nursing top and sweats up until the point of leaving the house and back in the same nursing top and running shorts the minute we got home.  I am 7 weeks postpartum and have been working hard on the bod with classes at Pure Barre the past three weeks.  I am starting to feel stronger each class, and starting to feel my abs again period, but still in flux with my wardrobe as I am still not down to my pre-pregnancy weight or shape.  I found this striped dress by Miss Eloise at Anthropologie a few weeks ago on major sale.  I felt it was a good transitional piece and decided to purchase it, knowing that I could still wear and work with it even after losing more weight.  The leather shoes were an EXTREMELY good, stumble upon find at Madewell.  They were also on SUPER sale (we’re talking, take an additional 40% off sale day).

stripe close_edited-1stripe necklaces_edited-1

I am carrying my new Reade Street leather tote bag, the IIIBeCa (which I self discovered stands for Tribeca, as in New York, where the designer lives), by Joy Gryson.  I am in love with this bag and know I will have it for many many years to come as it is a quality leather handbag and will only get better with age.  I have been in the market for a tote bag; one I can carry a couple diapers and wipes in, or a laptop for work days.  A tote shape is forever.  The wire and scarf headband/turban is from American Apparel, and layered necklaces are from various designers: top to bottom- By Boe, American Eagle Outfitters, and unknown designer from The Perfect Petal boutique a few years back.  Sunnies are several years old, and a favorite pair and brand- Oliver Peoples.  My next big girl purchase, after saving of course, is a new pair of sunnies.  I am looking into a few options including Karen Walker, and possibly Elizabeth & James.  Speaking of E&J, Goldyn boutique is hosting another trunk show, this one is with the accessories and sunnies from Elizabeth & James, this Thursday, July 11th from 11 am- 9 pm.  Not sure I’ll have my pennies saved up by then, but I can certainly scope out the shapes and try some on.

How about you?  Are you stay-cationing this summer?  Doing any home improvements?

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Feedback is good. Leave a piece here...

