Push Pin Your Town: South Broadway’s Fancy Tiger


tiger window

With a little more free time on my hands, I am very excited to get out and explore my Denver again! I started this series Push Pin Your Town a while ago, but going to make it a more consistent feature. So hope this hits your inbox or feed just in time for your morning coffee and hopefully gives you just enough inspiration to get you out the door and somewhere new!

Today was the first day of February and what a glorious blue sky, shunshine-y day it was! I had an errand to do downtown so I thought, why not head over to one of my favorite hoods, South Broadway. I first met my hubby living in a teeny studio off 1st and Sherman, before it got all hipster (sorry), and boy has the area changed! I had not been in Fancy Tiger Clothing’s new digs yet- I know, horrible me…so I made a point to be leisurely and spend some time in the shop yesterday afternoon, and soak it in. Matthew Brown, the owner was on hand to share a few tips on designers and product with me. If you were there last night, then you caught their amazing art opening for First Friday, “Five + Two= Yellow,” by the talented, not to mention gorgeous, Andi Todaro, who I have had the pleasure of meeting here and there around town at various events. Her work is really something to see…if there is any left! The prices are TOO good, a colorful, geometric wooden piece would be a lovely Valentine gift for your partner- preferably the one who lives with you so you can enjoy the work yourself!

art sign

art

Fancy Tiger was everything I remembered and more. Friendly, price point attainable for the young professional, and of course, full of awesome merchandise with the right amount of quirk, a cat adorned bib on a gray dress for example, all housed in a perfectly open and bright new space with plenty of natural elements like wood floors, succulents and a huge old limb hanging in the middle proudly displaying necklaces. I was glad to see familiar lines I had seen at the old location including Tulle and Gentle Fawn, and as always, I was excited to discover new local artists which the shop is chalk full of!

center store

The cutest shop girl Lara, yes with cool spelling, is an art student and also sells her line of metal jewelry, Strange Ritual, in the shop. REALLY want a pair of her earrings or one of her rings. After snapping pics of my favorite things and chatting up Lara, I could have gone on longer, I headed across the street to one of my favorite ice cream shops for a treat, Sweet Action. I opted for a two scooper. Chocolate Hazelnut and Toasted Hazelnut Brownie. Tasty…but I should have went with the Brown Sugar Banana!

bath products 1

Yummy organic beauty products from local company Fig & Yarrow that I am going to try…

bagbag open wide

And boy oh boy did I really see myself carrying this awesome canvas and leather bag! Made in the U.S. of A. folks! By Brooklyn designer Billy Kirk. ($308.00, but take 25% off!) I could totally see me throwing in a diaper changing pad/pod and using it as a chic and discreet diaper bag. Roomy enough! Matt Brown swears by his belts too…

clutch

Okay, in all honesty I thought this was a clutch, but turns out it is an iPad case, by another talented local, Hot Butter. Lara told me she usually sources all of her fabrics from right next door at Fancy Tiger Craft. She also makes very vibrant and fun fabric wallets too. This guy is only $36. I would totally use it as a day clutch.

letter necklaces

Initial necklaces! Simple, easy, everyone wants one, and if you’re shaking your head no, you wouldn’t refuse one as a gift…

wallets

Little wallets and pouches for what nots. Heart wallet by Fluffy- $24

polka dot tank

Polka Dot tank by Gentle Fawn, new for Spring- $78

sheep sweater

Sweater, the softest, by L.A. based Knitted Dove (here’s that quirk I was talkin’ about!)- $94, but 50% off!

skirt

Green pleated skirt in a sturdy fabric by L.A. line Dear Creatures– $94, but take 50% off! (Can’t wear this with a bump, sigh…)

strange ritual studs_edited-1

Stud earrings by Lara, Strange Ritual.

Hope this little feature inspires you to get out and explore our town! See the sights, shop the locals, support small businesses! South Broadway is the perfect place to do all of that. Where do you go when you head to South Broadway? Anyone try that new Punch Bowl Social yet? One of my favorite places is Sketch Wine Bar… which I will have to make a date of post baby. FYI, these are definitely NOT the only places I go when headed out on SOBO. There’s Decades, True Love Shoes & Accessories, Buffalo Exchange….sigh…So much to see, too little meter money! Until next time…

Oh…oh! And…a GREAT time to come see Fancy Tiger would be next Saturday, February 9th! Why? Because a local yocal named Rebecca Anne Tischler, a talented seamstress and Jill-of-all-trades, (she is also the Creative Director of Denver Design Incubator) will be hosting her trunk show with beautiful little handmade bloomers & undergarments…from 6-9 pm. Ooh la la! Surprise your guy!

XO,

Glo

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Feedback is good. Leave a piece here...

