Thrift Picks: Spiegel Skirts & MCM Makeup Bag Scores



Biking to the thrift store- dangerously close.

My momma taught me at an early age how thrifting can be fun! Just the other day I introduced hubby to two of my new faves in the hood. We found a simple little porcelain dish to hold soap and sponges (he’s been wanting one.) Last weekend I went to a couple of my faves downtown, Safari Second Hand which actually just moved to Aurora, and ARC on Broadway and Arkansas. I happened to drop in Safari on moving day so I got half off my stack of children’s books from the 70’s. I also found a great, large, sugar bowl for our kitchen- we love tea with our sugar.

A couple weeks ago though, I had one of those awesome thrifting days where I found a buggy full of booty! I found pieces completely on trend now. A neon pink silk button down blouse? Check! A metallic gold leather pencil skirt?You betcha! A blue, chambray type worker button down to tie in knots, tuck into said pencil skirts or wear as a jacket? Uhhhh huhhh!

Here’s the load:

Thrifty Bargains on Mississippi…

Trying on this amazing sweater in the Plus Size section which a larger “Woman” seemed to be irritated by as she pushed past me with her cart exclaiming, “Excuse me, this is my section. These clothes are in the section that fits ME.” Like I wasn’t allowed to have found such a cool cardi because it was a 3X… Sheesh!

Trying on an amazing leather pencil skirt and pale pink silk blouse in the clean, large dressing room. (Unusual niceties for a thrift store.)

And little reminders that you are indeed in a second hand store with donations from goodness knows where. Like these treasures…

What I ended up with…








Perfect secretary blouses…


High waisted ankle skimming trousers from the Limited, circa days of early episodes of “Friends”…

And these funny “old lady pants” that mysteriously fit really smartly and perfectly on point. Proves that when thrifting, do not stick to your size section and take the time to try things on that peak your interest. For me,it was the fabric, maroon with a navy check print.


A great leather belt found in the “Men’s” section. Another good tip- look in other departments. Sometimes things are miss labeled, or they are unisex!

And my surprise find and “Fashion is Global” moment- a vintage MCM Worldwide clutch! Smells a little musty, but it’s square size and wristlet handle make it a great day clutch which I’ve already used a half dozen times! Not sure if it’s real or a fake, but I bought it because I liked it and it stuck out- the only real reason to buy something. If there are any purse aficionados out there though, let me know- I feel like the hardware is too centered and there’s no official zipper pull.

Have you been thrifting lately?What’s your favorite find ever?!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Thrift Picks: Spiegel Skirts & MCM Makeup Bag Scores”

  1. MCM リュック Says:

    Hmm it seems like your website ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.

    I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any helpful hints for inexperienced blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

Feedback is good. Leave a piece here...

