Weekend Rehash


This weekend started off with a bang! I had my niece’s 10th birthday at Pirate’s Cove, a swim theme park in Littleton, Colorado. She’s in the double digits now! It goes so fast! It was great seeing my family, but too short on time. I had a baby shower that afternoon as well in Golden, Colorado. I tend to gift clothes for babies. I try to follow the registry, but always end up getting clothes. Somehow a cute pint size romper is more fun to gift than a pack of diapers- sorry Lisa! Useful footed jammies, receiving blankets, and soft leather booties were practical as they were adorable, so I didn’t get off track too much. Of course I had to throw in a box of Trumpette sockies too!

As for retail, on Saturday I popped into At Common Era to talk with Debra the owner. I found plenty of jersey maxi dresses well stocked. I picked up a black and white striped maxi dress for $36. I know we are in August and the mornings are starting to get crisp here, but the maxi trend has been going strong for a few years, and I don’t see it going away. I can layer a brown, hip slung belt and a cardigan with it, or denim jacket for fall. I can rock it with those black motorcycle booties I have with long layered necklaces next week when I start back at school, and I can keep it for next Spring and summer. I don’t see stripes going away for another season or two either. I also spotted an adorable white, cap sleeved button up blouse with a black tie. This is the perfect blouse for fall’s menswear inspired looks. Tucked into a high waist skirt, or wide leg, denim trousers this is a piece that will round out your wardrobe, and it was $46. The dress I purchased could easily fit into this sequence below.

On Sunday, I had the pleasure of hanging with Joumana, one half of Zoobi Designs. She moved from Toronto to Denver in January when she married one of my husband’s good friends. We have become fast friends. This past Sunday we started off by riding our crusiers over to Jelly on 13th and Pennsylvania for brunch. We put our name on the list, over an hour wait, and we popped in the couple of shops next door including Kilgore Books, and Fashion Nation. I remember Fashion Nation being much more interesting, but now the S&M vinyl and Doc Martens didn’t appeal to me. We did however find great used books at Kilgore Books. After our scrambled eggs (she had the Veggie Hash, I had the Boulder), good but not sure they were worth the EXTREMELY long wait, and virgin Bloody Marys, we headed downtown to Larimer Square.

Stacks of Crayola hued Kilgore Books Tees $10

We meandered into the beautiful interiors and home accessories store Posh, and ran into the designer of Black Poodle, Madeleine O’Connell, who was stocking her wares. Next up was, oh wait, maybe not! I was headed to Violet Boutique but was shocked and disappointed when I saw the papered up windows. So sad! I stepped into Blush boutique next door and heard the sad news that Violet did indeed close. Blush had two full racks of clothing in the back of the store that were 50% off including the exact pieces below (the pink perforated blouse by Elizabeth & James is GORGE and those Tibi black and white brogues are so funky, they’d be great with a floral sun dress or skinny black jeans). We polished off the leisurely Sunday by grabbing stacks of magazines and interior design books, grabbing some tea and cozying up on decrepit, old chairs at the Tattered Cover. It was a perfect weekend filled with family, friends and retail, but there’s just never enough time to see and do it all, but I guess that’s why I always look forward to the next weekend!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Feedback is good. Leave a piece here...