A Sonnet. Get on It.


Da da, da, da! As promised, here is the first of three giveaways to come to celebrate Fashion Folio turning three! One lucky ducky is going to get a Zoobi Designs necklace for their neckie noodle! I have blogged about the Canadian duo behind the river rock pendants before, here and here, and this time they’re back to share the love with you by giving away this genuine stunner below! Lucky for you, this necklace is making it’s way all the way across the Candaian border into Fashion Folio’s hot little hand, temporarily anyway, to give away to a devout reader! Nadia and Joumana, yes they are as gorgeous as their names, are the sisters behind Zoobi Designs who started the line to preserve a bit of history and earth in one piece by sourcing pages from old books, some from the 1800’s, and fusing them to the much under-appreciated stone, the river rock. You will never find yourself on the pages of People’s “Who Wore It Better” section as each piece is one of a kind and cannot be replicated. I have worn mine numerous times and it always sparks compliments. Layer it with other unique and special necklaces and chains you’ve collected and make it the focal point. The piece below has a Shakespearean sonnet from Macbeth.

Now for the good stuff, how you win it!

1.Comment to this post below, sharing how you will wear the necklace and style it, and also name your favorite Shakespearean moment, play, character, poem, memory, story or anecdote!
E.G. Mine would have to be the time I played Juliet in Romeo and Juliet in the Colorado Shakespeare Festival back when I was like 14 or so, and had to kiss a boy for the first time. It may have been for stage, but my tummy still got the jitters!
2. Follow Fashion Folio on Facebook by clicking here and become a fan of Zoobi Designs on Facebook here.
3. Share Fashion Folio and Zoobi Designs with your friends! As Joumana says, “Sharing is Caring!” Get 3 of your friends to follow too!

The reader who has the most interesting or witty or clever comment and does steps 2 and 3 will be considered for the necklace! Please be sure to leave your e-mail address so we can get ahold of you! Good luck! Oh, the contest will close at midnight, MST on Wednesday August 17th, 2011.

Tags: , ,

8 Responses to “A Sonnet. Get on It.”

  1. Nigel Says:

    Love this, I’m looking for a nice, worn antique key to make a necklace out of, I think it would look nice paired with this. Being a lover of literature, I would probably also let the piece speak for itself, I wear a lot of tank tops in the summer/fall, so it would definitely get a lot of action as a main accessory.

    My favorite Shakespeare moment… Well, to go the lighter route, I would have to say I really enjoyed when The Taming of The Shrew was adapted into Ten Things I Hate About You. I was a teenager when that film came out, and it was actually good, like, John Hughes-esque, interesting and funny, infinitely quotable, a great cast, topped off by Heath Ledger playing the bad boy. They don’t make’em like they used to…

  2. Rise Says:

    I will wear it at the next DAMN GURL and bite my thumb at those opposed to a queer dance party

  3. Michelle Says:

    I would wear it with a sweater and jeans to the movies or to a concert. Love sweater and jeans and boots or flats. My favorite Shakespearean moment is on Gnomeo and Juliette when they go to the Shakespeare statue and it talks to them saying “It ends bad…everyone dies” and the gnomes say nope and later when the statue sees an expolsion he says “Told ya” Best Shakespeare EVER!!!

  4. Dani Says:

    I actually would dress this up a touch with a midnight blue off the shoulder dress, sky high platform sandals and pair it with one of my antique key necklaces. (I have a small collections from a super talented artist based out of WA state) It would stand out and be a ‘conversation starter’ piece!
    I love, LOVE the movie ‘Romeo + Juliet’ with Leo, sigh! I have both soundtracks and have seen the movie so many times I can almost quote every part while simply listening to the music!

  5. Nissa Szabo Says:

    I can picture it now… I will wear it with my white boyfriend T tucked into my bright, floral, flowy skirt that hits about mid thigh, Other accessories: Black rimmed glasses, a black watch and nude heels because they are my main obsession right now! I love mixing fem, vintage,and modern pieces.
    My favorite Shakespearean moment is from my senior year of high school. we had to make a video portraying Shakespeare’s play “The Tragedy of Macbeth”. The video turned out to be more of a tragedy than the play, but I had a blast spending extra time with friends and classmates doing a “class project” aka hanging out!

    I have a quote to!
    I hope I’m not going overboard but I have to share!
    “If music be the food of love, play on” ❤

  6. Gianna Patton Says:

    I love it! I would wear it with a ribbed white tank, Soft beige draped shrug, skinny torn jeans and over-the-knee tan wedge boots 🙂

    I was obsessed with shakespeare as a child, forcing my younger brother to act out the plays (Macbeth was a fav) with me for our cats in our backyard on a wooden pallet ‘stage’ (bed sheets hung on the drying line allowed us to change scenes, lol). Most kids at that age hung out at the arcade… Not me. My haunt was Anne Hathaway’s Cottage – a replica of Shakespeare’s wife’s house 😉

    G_Patton@hotmail.com

  7. Gianna Patton Says:

    I’m a fan of both Fashion Folio and Zoobie on Facebook (Gia Patton-Judge)

    G_Patton@hotmail.com

  8. Jessica Says:

    I would wear it with jeggings, Uggs, birth control glasses and a turban.

    LOL

    My favorite Shakespearean moment is “O,” the 2001 updated film based on Othello, starring Julia Stiles and Josh Hartnett ❤ ❤ <3. That or "10 Things I Hate About You." Maybe I just love Julia Stiles. RIP Heath Ledger.

    Peace and ❤
    -Jessica

Feedback is good. Leave a piece here...

