Give Me Some Some a’ Dat UMS (Underground Music Showcase)


This weekend was one of those perfect two days when you feel semi-single, and partially in the new, fuzzy-love-dating phase. Friday night my love and I rode our cruisers over to 17th to have a delish Italian meal at Olivea. It isn’t often we splurge on such an extravagant restaurant so we pulled out all the stops and even ordered a bottle of pinot grigio, Borgo, which was super duper and reminded us of our honeymoon in Rome and Florence. We started off with the flat bread with lamb sausage and goat cheese, I had an arugula salad with beets and then we had the cavatelli with chicken sausage and the duck meatballs in a corn grit sause- AMAZING! We polished it off with dessert, don’t worry!
Today, my hubby went up to Vail to play in a soccer tournament, (go team Americas!), so I had the whole day to do what I wanted. I started off by grabbing coffee at Caffe Sonora on Colfax, and then heading over to an annual sale at the Dress fo Success headquarters on High St. and Colfax. Clothes were donated by A Line, Violet, Zoe and Eve boutiques. The money they raised today will be used towards purchasing suits, mostly plus sizes which are hard to come by, for their main target demographic they serve throughout the year. You will NOT believe what I scored at this sale!
I found a pair of Rag and Bone spectator lace up flats, which will be perfect for fall semester, a khaki, See by Chloe smock jumper dress, a navy, floor length, pleated Escada skirt, a mauve, pencil skirt from Komarov, and a perfectly tailored, a-line, cream silk Lela Rose skirt with ribbon trim! I happily made out a check to Dress for Success, an organization that I could feel good about handing hard earned dough over to, AND it all totaled just three digits. I’m not joshing you- the Escada skirt was from Neiman’s and it was on the $5 blowout rack! It was a size 14, but it sits low on my hips and is even more perfect that it’s twice my size. All items wer brand new and had the tags still!
Next on the agenda was the 41st annual Cherry Creek North annual sidewalk sale. Red ballons, and kiddies selling lemondae marked summer sales galore in this trendy shopping are just north of the mall. I stuck to my favorite stops, Little Me’s, a children’s boutique, and Garbarini across the street. I found some adorable gift at Little Me’s, adorable karate pants from Little Seed (an organic cotton line by Soleil Moon Frye a.k.a. “Punky Brewster”), and onezies with funky phrases like, “I only date models,” from Urban-Bratz. I just peeped over at Garbarini for a few minutes. I did spot gold lame leggings by BCBG for $9, but didn’t have the patience to wait in line. Just as I had it in my mind that I had enough shopping for one day, I was driving away and spotted an alley garage sale. I scored ten pieces of clothing for $10! A dollar an item, I can’t even remember the last time I found that! Most of it was Forever 21 and two vintage dresses, but I can always take the to Buffalo exchange if they don’t work.
I came home and cleaned house and organized my other half’s two closets, and then I was off to the 11th annual, Underground Music Showcase in my new Escada skirt, a Panama hat I found on sale at J. Crew a couple weeks ago, gray sandals with a low heel from Forever 21, and a necklace from friends, Zoobi Designs in Canada. I started off at the Hi Dive where I listened to the very talented Le Divorce, and was even lucky enough to score a free album! Next, I was in the parking lot of the Goodwill on Broadway with a sea of peeps listening to, my favorite of the night, Snake Rattle Rattle Snake. I popped back over to the Hi Dive to listen to Bad Weather California, which my barista from Novo Coffee is the drummer for. They were fantastic, but I needed some air. I darted across the street to Delite where Chavez y Chavez were spinning amazing tunes. The best part was that I was able to order a vodka tonic, finally, and there was room to dance! My feet couldn’t take anymore at about eleven, so I missed out on the headliner show, The Black Heart Procession, at the Mayan and cruised on home. A pit stop at Burger King hit the spot, and after a few DVR’d shows, I’m ready for beddy-bye…and for my husband to come home. Check out UMS tomorrow to experience it for yourself and vist the Cherry Creek North sidewalk sale- it’s sooo worth at least a stroll and a window shop!

































Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Give Me Some Some a’ Dat UMS (Underground Music Showcase)”

  1. Jessica Says:

    I was there!

Feedback is good. Leave a piece here...

