Brittin Karaffa: Castle Rock Outlets’ Gem


I have some talented, driven girlfriends, and I wanted to share them with you all by starting to interview them. I want to surround myself with like-minded women who share the same ambitions and hunger for career success, who also know how to balance family life, and a few come to mind right off the bat. I met Britt about three years ago, when she owned her boutique, Loft 22, on Larimer Square. I’d go in on my breaks between classes and chat her up. We’re both Aries, and we clicked right away dishing to each other about fashion, our then boyfriends, now husbands, and similar things going on in our lives. We became fast friends and I was even honored to be a bridesmaid in her beautiful Steamboat Springs wedding. I’ve blogged about Loft 22 and her wedding before, but I wanted to give you an update on Mrs. Karaffa’s current state, as a new wifey, mommy to the cutest pup, Eva, and the Marketing and Special Events Manager at the Outlets at Castle Rock! I’m so proud of her! Did I mention she’s a whiz at interior decorating and a talented graphics artist too? She’s one smart cookie!

Brittin Asbury Karaffa, 31, Denver, Colorado: Marketing and Special Events Manager, Outlets at Castle Rock

What does your job entail on any given day? I know you deal with a lot of events and planning, has this enabled you to network and build relationships with representatives of the stores within the shops at Castle Rock Outlets?
Its all about multi-tasking and every day brings something different. There’s never a boring day! A lot of my job entails strategizing to increase sales, planning events for the center, building our online following and social media promotions, attending Visit Denver, local CVBs and building partnerships, creating programs to increase tourism and traffic to our center, and working with our merchants on marketing. Although there are over 100 retailers at Outlets at Castle Rock, I spend as much time as I can building relationships with them…plus, it doesn’t hurt that I can also check out their new merchandise and do a little shopping at the same time! I have actually started a new initiative online, “Fashion Features”, which showcases different trends and looks in fashion that you can find in our stores.

A Tidy Desk as seen on DailyMail.co.uk


What is the mission, goal, motto of Castle Rock Outlets? Does it plan to expand? What are your favorite stores?

Outlets at Castle Rock is the place to shop for the brands you love where you will not pay full retail price…you always save. I would say my favorite stores are Banana Republic, J. Crew, Loft, and Saks Fifth Avenue OFF 5TH….they always have cute stuff and even similar items you would find at their regular retail stores, just at a better price.

Amazing Pair: Fenton Fallon for J Crew_ Carrington Necklace $295

Any exciting new stores coming that we should watch for? Fun events we should put on our calendars?
We definitely have some new stores in the leasing process and some already set to open in the next few months. There are several that I am very excited about…although I’m not at liberty to say who they are yet….stay tuned. As far as events go, we have a summer concert series launching in June, a Royal Wedding Giveaway on Facebook with some amazing prizes going through April, Strike a Pose model search on May 14th, and so many more events! Check out our events on our website for listings and more information.

Kate Middleton_Photo Credit-Fame via People.com April 2011

Workwear, professional attire can be a bit drab and dated it seems, ESPECIALLY in Colorado! How do you tend to dress for work? What brands and tips can you give to the fashion driven young professional?
Fortunately, our work dress code is business casual so I am able to wear more trendy, comfortable clothing. I am all about wide leg trousers with patterned blouses, leggings with colorful dresses or tunics, and pencil skirts with boots and fun tops. I think if you work in an environment that requires more professional business attire, you can’t go wrong with a classic suit. Calvin Klein, Banana Republic, and Ann Taylor are always good go-to stores for suits that are timeless (we also have these stores at Outlets at Castle Rock). Add funky accessories, shoes, or an unexpected top with it to make it more fashionable or to fit your style.

Prada Heart Print Silk Blouse_on Polyvore.com $320.00

I know you grew up in Dallas, Texas and Steamboat Springs, Colorado, and then went to college in Kansas City where you worked with Hallmark as a graphics designer upon graduation. What city, place had the most influence on your sense of style?
I would say Kansas City probably had the most influence on my sense of style. So much of what I designed at Hallmark for the gift wrap and celebrations department was heavily influenced by fashion and home decor trends. Researching with fashion magazines and even research trips to Chicago and New York City was an important part of the design process. Working at Hallmark, I also had so many co-workers who were unbelievably creative, artistic, and fashionable. It really taught me that you don’t necessarily have to follow the trends to be fashionable…fashion is all about your own style sensibilities and what works for you. Fashion should be your own unique take on what fits your personality aesthetically.


Who would you say is your favorite designer out there today? Doesn’t necessarily have to be in your closet?
Wow, there are so many since I am drawn to so many different styles. I love BCBG, Alice + Olivia, Rodarte, Balenciaga, 3.1 Phillip Lim, Requiem…the list goes on and on…

Spring 2011 Runway Look from Rodarte_Photo by Dan & Corina Lecca via Sweetarchivia.blogspot.com

What celebrity or fashion icon do you follow most for fashion inspiration?
Olivia Palermo always looks so sophisticated and polished, and Camilla Belle has such a great sense of style with fresh, flirty party outfits. I also love Cameron Diaz’s style which has that effortless, simple, yet pulled-together.

Olivia Palermo_Sep 2009_Photo from The Fash Pack

You owned Loft 22 boutique downtown, which sadly closed. Any chance we will have another boutique to shop from in the future? Would you ever venture into that again?
Owning Loft 22 was such an amazing experience and I truly miss going to market and the whole buying process. I am not going to lie, being in the boutique fashion business isn’t easy, but I feel that I learned so much and owning your own business is very rewarding in certain ways. Right now, I am really enjoying marketing and my current job, but who knows down the road what might happen.

Where are your favorite places, stores, online or bricks and mortar to shop? Any Denver bests?
I love shopping at Nordstrom, Urban Outfitters, Anthropologie, and of course the Outlets at Castle Rock. There are also so many cool independent boutiques around Denver that offer truly unique brands with great service, like Violet, A.Line Boutique, and Blu. Although they don’t carry fashion, I love shopping at the Perfect Petal for home decor and gift items.

MadMen Home:Bar Cart Selection Seen on_Design Sponge

I can’t wait to properly catch up with the busy Britt after Easter, perhaps with a celebratory cocktail- our Birthdays are just a couple days apart. If you know a blog-worthy young lady, perhaps yourself, I’d love to hear your story and learn more about why you love Denver! Comment to this post and we’ll be in touch!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Feedback is good. Leave a piece here...

