Fashion’s Night Out New York 2010


I just got back from an amazing week in New York. A trip that I specifically booked for the purposes of the Fashion’s Night Out events held on September 10th. FNO began last September 10th, 2009, by Anna Wintour at Vogue, held in New York City to boost the grim economy and pump money into the retail commerce. This year, the September 10th FNO celebrations expanded to the usual suspect fashion cities Los Angeles, London, Paris and Tokyo, and even the unsuspected like Portland, Oregon. Hopefully this time next year, I’ll be blogging about Denver’s own FNO events. Until then, here’s what I experienced as a mere Denver fashion blogger.

Thursday September 9th was spent sight seeing in New York and a quick coffee with a friend in Soho at Ground Support. I also was able to catch up with a great friend who is newly engaged, at her home in West Village. After visiting with her over salad, I borrowed her map and as she advised “got lost.” I wandered around the corner from Prince and Sullivan and ended up on Thompson where I stumbled across a little store called Rosebud, which is dedicated to selling wares of Israeli designers. It was here that I bought the official Fashion’s Night Out tee shirt designed for this year’s event, $25. I couldn’t quite splurge on one of their many drapey dresses in gray and black, but I thought this was the perfect place to put my $25 for the FNO tee. I joined the gaggles of New Yorker fashionistas and wore my tee on Friday, September 10th. I suited up, in the quintessential FNO uniform; the tee paired with black, black and heels. I tucked the white tee into high waisted, black, pleated slacks from DKNY, that I scored at Safari Thrift Store, back in Denver, for $4.99, along with an adorable, buttonless, black jacket with shoulder pads and the perfect triangle cut, and heels of course.

We began our FNO trek to Saks Fifth Avenue uptown where festivities included BINGO with model Karolina Kurkova, Donna Karan and Jessica Szohr of Gossip Girl on level two. I only saw Kurkova in this area. I did see Donna Karan, but not calling B-9, she was in her DKNY shop at Saks. On level 3, you had a chance to play Pictionary with designers Prabal Gurung, Peter Som and Zac Posen. Missed this action, as we were here a little early and were scouring for a glass of wine. On 4, you could get your swing on with designers Mark and James of Badgley Mischka, and Zac Posen and Coca Rocha at 7:45. again, we just missed Zac Posen, being early. Floor 5 was where I met handbag designer Katherine Kwei, who designers fabulous leather clutches and perfect transitional handbags in black python. She had one amazing purse that transitioned from day to night by zipping off the fringe outer layer, much like a snake sheds its skin. She was the sweetest, most adorable designer, so humble and quiet that we almost tripped over her sitting in her chair! She was very kind to chat with us, and I couldn’t help but notice her amazing haircut. I also scored a friendship bracelet that Charlotte Ronson signed for me, and I saw the incredible handbag designer Rebecca Minkoff, who is famous for her “Morning After” bag. I didn’t know this until after the events, but she was giving away a bag every hour through Twitter, damn, another reason to get my Blackberry wireless! We skipped floors 6,7 and 8 probably for lack of spirits, champs, not personal. So we decided to move our groove to the flagship stores along 5th and Madison.

We hit Versace first, where we waited in a packed crowd, for lemon flavored martinis. We stayed for the one drink and headed over to Fendi, where a gorgeous elf like DJ, Tonik, spun amazing tunes. After a glass or two of white wine here, we headed over to Bottega Veneta, then Diesel briefly, no pun intended and then Yves Saint Laurent, and Louis Vuitton. Louis Vuitton was probably my favorite. They had a lineup of male models lining their banisters along two flights of stairs. They played a repetitive piece of music in which the Louis Vuitton apron clad models passed the Louis bowler bag down the line in slow motion, mimicking behaviors of lust and desire, pretending to slap the gentleman next to them who held the bag, and then as the bag went down the stairs, the last lad would take the bag and deliver it across the room and the series would start all over again. You can see the You Tube video by Mizhattan here for a better idea.

We headed downtown and made a pit stop to Rice to Riches, an amazing idea of a tapioca pudding bar, sort of like frozen yogurt, but BETTER!!!!! We stopped over at Elizabeth, on Elizabeth Street for a pick me up drink and headed over to The Bowery Hotel where we ended our night by dancing on their airy rooftop deck for the Fashion’s Night Out after party. All in all, a wonderful experience for my first FNO in NY.

Rice to Riches Goodness

All photos below taken by Glorianna Schinagl. All rights reserved.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Fashion’s Night Out New York 2010”

  1. lbg Says:

    The dj’s name is dj toni K.

    lower case ‘t’ capital ‘K

    :o)

  2. gschinagl Says:

    I was there a week. I stayed with a friend. Yes, I had a great time! Thanks!

Feedback is good. Leave a piece here...

